Eclipse Records, 4 The Arcade, Walsall, WS1 1RE // 01922 322142 // Open Tues-Fri 10am-4pm & Sat 10am-5pm

The Smiths - The Sound Of The Smiths

Sale price £2.50 Regular price £4.99

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Smiths were the definitive British independent band of the eighties, releasing a remarkable series of singles and albums between 1983 and 1987 that were both commercially and critically successful and which laid down a marker for guitar pop-rock that remains unsurpassed. 'The sound of The Smiths' comprises 23 tracks and presents all The Smiths' single releases, reinstating singles that were scheduled through eventually unreleased ('Still Ill' and 'You Just Haven't Earned It Yet Baby') plus European-only singles such as 'Barbarism Begins At Home' and 'The Headmaster Ritual'. the core of the album, However, is that matchless run of singles from their first rough trade 7" single 'Hand in Glove' through to 'Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me'. The collection includes genuine classics such as 'Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now', 'How Soon Is Now', 'Panic' and 'Girlfriend In A Coma' which marked the pinnacle of that unique creative collaboration between vocalist Morrissey and guitarist Johnny Marr. Indeed, Morrissey's eloquence and proselytising was always matched by the compelling musicianship of Marr, bassist Andy Rourke and drummer Mike Joyce.