Ocean Colour Scene - One From The Modern (RSD20)

Regular price $34.97

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

The 4th Ocean Colour Scene album was a slight departure from the previous two albums, with a more reflective, soulful and pastoral sound as well as a more political slant, albeit with a late-60s psychedelic slant, reminiscent of The Byrds, Small Faces or later-period Beatles.The whole album still retains the band's trademark melodic style, with a refined, rich sound that gives the material a contemporary twist, avoiding the pitfalls of relying on a merely nostalgic or 'retro' orientated approach.Check out the psychedelic freak-out instrumental ending of I Am the News...! The album includes three hit singles - the protest song Profit in Peace, followed by the more classic OCS sound of So Low and double 'A' side - I Am the News / July.The album was produced by Brendan Lynch and the song Soul Driver is dedicated to Paul Weller, who mentored the band.Weller sings backing vocals on the track - No One at All.Remastered at Abbey Road, released on heavyweight GREEN vinyl.Exclusive, limited edition double LP, in gatefold sleeve.All formats now deleted - the vinyl has been out of print for many years.Includes download code.

Side A

  1. Profit In Peace
  2. So Low
  3. I Am The News

Side B

  1. No One At All
  2. Families
  3. Step By Step

Side C

  1. July
  2. Jane She Got Excavated
  3. Emily Chambers

Side D

  1. Soul Driver
  2. The Waves
  3. I Won't Get Grazed